The Open University of Sri Lanka (OUSL) is the premier Open and Distance learning institution in Sri Lanka where students can pursue their studies through Open and Distance Learning (ODL) methodologies. It is Established in 1980. Due to the nature of its teaching methodology and infrastructure, the OUSL is able to serve a large student population spread throughout the country. Currently, there are more than 45,000 students studying at the OUSL, who are being served by eight Regional Centers and eighteen Study Centers located around the country. The Central campus and the Colombo Regional Center are situated at Nawala. 

Regional Center of the Open University

Study Centres of the Open University

The main campus of the Open University of Sri Lanka (OUSL) is located in the capital city with an urban environment. The total extent of the Colombo District is 699 sq. Km and a total population is around 2,324,349. Colombo District has mild weather conditions without extremes throughout the whole year. The maximum temperature is about 31 degrees Celsius (88 degrees Fahrenheit) during the months of March and April and the minimum temperature is about 22 degrees Celsius (72 degrees Fahrenheit). The monsoon seasons are from March to August and from October to January during which time very heavy thunder showers can be expected. The annual rainfall is about 2400mm.